“Unbound By Convention” Granite State College Graduates Celebrate at 2022 Commencement Ceremony

congrats graduates

May 24, 2022

MANCHESTER, NH – Granite State College celebrated its Class of 2022 at its commencement ceremony held May 23 at Northeast Delta Dental Stadium in Manchester.

This year’s class includes 500 adult learners of all ages from the college’s affordable, online associate, bachelor’s, and master’s degree programs. An estimated 200 graduates were in attendance.

Student speaker Sam Mellert, B.S. Business Management ‘22, reflected on the obstacles he overcame to finish his degree. He also applauded his classmates for balancing work, military service, family, and other obligations while completing their degrees.

“Fellow graduates, no matter where you plan to go from here, I am confident that you will do great things. You already have,” Mellert said.

James W. Dean, Jr., President of Granite State College and the University of New Hampshire, underlined the value of Granite State College’s online programs for adults:

“The model of a Granite State College education represents a bright, innovative future for higher education in our state and in our nation. This is a future that will be unbound by convention. One where a student’s path to a degree is more flexible, affordable, and accessible. One where the pursuit of knowledge and new career opportunities can begin at any point in a person’s life – and on a timeline that fits into their busy lives. It is a model that opens doors for everyone,” President Dean said.

During the ceremony, President Dean presented Jeff Feingold, Editor of NH Business Review, with the Honorary Doctorate in Humane Letters. This award is presented to a respected leader whose contributions bring significant enrichment to their community and whose values reinforce the valuable mission of Granite State College.

“Think for a moment about what each of you has accomplished and where you stand today. No matter the degree you earned, no matter the course of study, no matter your ultimate goal, you have accomplished something long lasting that will make your life better,” Feingold said.

Tina Sharby, M.S. Leadership ’18, Chief Human Resources Officer for Easterseals NH, was recognized with the Victor Montana Award. This award is presented annually to an alumna or alumnus who personifies a positive spirit and love of learning by demonstrating a commitment to lifelong learning, community service, and their chosen profession.

New Hampshire Fisher Cats President Mike Ramshaw accepted the Granite State Award in recognition of the organization as a centerpiece of tourism in New Hampshire and for its education-focused philanthropic and community-oriented programs through the New Hampshire Fisher Cats Foundation.

Dean Mike Decelle recognized Paula Shafer and Carmen Frederico with the Distinguished Faculty Award, which celebrates excellence in teaching.

Graduates and Student Honors

Granite State College’s 2022 graduates are listed in the commencement program. Graduates are listed in alphabetical order by degree, beginning with master’s programs.

View commencement program

Alpha Sigma Lambda Honor Society Inductees, 2022

The College was elated to virtually welcome 58 students into its honor society, Alpha Sigma Lambda, during the 2022 Honors Convocation, held via Zoom on May 11, 2022.

Crystal Albritton
Abigail Baker
Daniel Bell
Hope Bibeault
Laura Boncek
Elizabeth Brown
Shelby Brown
Elisa Careggio
Heather Cassavaugh
Michael Cassell
Shannon Champagne
Kara Chartier
Aven Comstock
Thea Conway
Ashley Couturier
Shelley-Ann Cullen
Isabella Desimone
Lisa Doyon
Laurie Field
Abigail Foreman
Alyssa Garner
Kacey Gassett
Sara Gates
Natasha Gaudette
Christina Gill
Joan Gravette
Morgan Greene
Todd Hearn
Rhonda Hensley
Frankie Hitchcock
Brandy Hollis
Jayson Jackson
Anthony Jerome
Lindsey Judkins
David Kell
Jordan Kesel
Miles Leno
Albert Letourneau
Iris Litterio
Kaitlyn Marcella
Jaime Marchand
Ruvim Martynovich
Meagan Mcquade
Samuel Mellert
Kyle Noel
Jeanin Onos
Lynn Ouellette
Andrew Perry
Carolann Peteroli
Madison Ricker
Joseph Russo
Denise Sherburne
Rachel Stoudt
Joseph Tropea
Annonciata Uwihoreye
Whitney Walker
Sara Weldon
Douglas Wilson